Warning symbol

We have taken steps to try to ensure safety through the COVID-19 crisis. Learn more here.

×

"TELL THEM YOU MEAN BUSINESS" | 1-866-900-7078

North Carolina Teenage Driving Laws Tough Enough? Study Says No

north carolina highway packed with five rows of carsDo you know what the laws are for teenagers to obtain a driver’s license in North Carolina? You must be at least 15 years old to get a learner’s permit. But the education process for a driver’s license can begin at 14 ½ years old. Teenagers in North Carolina can eventually obtain a license with restrictions until they are 18 years old, when they are eligible to receive an unrestricted driver’s license.

North Carolina’s laws might seem strict. But they aren’t tough enough, according to a recent national study. An estimated 83 lives could be saved every year in North Carolina if the state adopted phased-in teen driving privileges. That’s the conclusion of a study done by the National Safety Council. Nationwide, the study estimates that 2,000 traffic fatalities each year could be prevented if states had tougher phased-in teen driving laws, also known as graduated driver licensing (GDL).

What would you do if you were injured in an accident caused by a teenage driver? Who would you trust to help you put your life back on track? You may need an experienced North Carolina teen auto accident attorney on your side. You may need the Law Offices of James Scott Farrin.

Serving clients in North Carolina, the dedicated attorneys at our law firm work tirelessly every day for clients. We can help you decide the best course of action, including whether to file a North Carolina car accident lawsuit. We understand how traumatic an auto accident can be for someone. Allow us to help you fight for the settlement you may deserve. Contact a North Carolina teenage auto accident attorney who puts people first. Contact the Law Offices of James Scott Farrin.

If states truly want to save lives, they should adopt seven specific rules for teenage drivers that regularly result in fewer accidents, according to the National Safety Council. These rules include states waiting until drivers are 16 years old to issue a learner’s permit and 16½ years old to issue an intermediate license.

Auto accidents can be confusing. Knowing what to do afterwards can be overwhelming. Allow us to help you cut through the confusion. Contact the Law Offices of James Scott Farrin. We’re on your side.