Many people are confused about how the information on their driving record may differ from what is found on their insurance policy. The points you accrue on your North Carolina driving record may not be the same as the points your insurance company assigns to your policy to determine your rates.
As North Carolina Personal Injury Attorney Michael Jordan explains, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicle (NC DMV) assigns points to your driver’s license when you are found at fault in an accident or are found guilty of a traffic violation, such as speeding or running a red light. If you accumulate a certain number of points, you can have your license suspended or revoked.
Some common violations and their points include:
• Failure to stop for a stop sign or siren: 3 points
• Speeding more than 55 miles per hour: 3 points
• Reckless driving: 4 points
• Hit and run (property damage): 4 points
• Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children: 5 points
• Aggressive driving: 5 points
If you get 12 or more points within a 3-year period, your license may be suspended for up to 60 days.
The Department of Insurance determines the points that are used to calculate your insurance rates, and these points are completely separate from the points the NC DMV uses. The points your insurance company uses are based on accidents, liability claims against you, and any other incidents in which you were found at fault and your insurance company had to pay a claim.
Under this system, it is possible to have a ticket dismissed and to not receive any points on your driving record but to still have points counted against your insurance policy.
Of course, the best way to keep your insurance rates down is to practice safe driving and to maintain a clean driving record.
North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers
If you have been injured in an accident, you may be entitled to legal compensation for your injuries. Contact the Law Offices of James Scott Farrin at 1-866-900-7078 for a free evaluation of your case to find out if one of our North Carolina personal injury attorneys may be able to help you.