A Wilson Workers’ Comp Lawyer Fights for You
Workplace injuries can happen to anyone. Maybe you’re behind a desk for BB&T, teaching kids in Wilson County Schools, working shifts for Bridgestone, or looking after patients at Wilson Medical Center. No matter where you work in Wilson, a workplace injury could happen to you.
That’s why we’re here. Our Wilson workers’ compensation attorneys can fight for injured workers and help them seek the benefits and medical care they need.
What Steps Should I Take After My Workplace Injury in Wilson?
Here’s a quick checklist of what we recommend for injured workers seeking to file:
- Notify your employer of your injury (in writing, if possible).
- Call a Wilson workers’ comp lawyer to handle the rest.
That’s the easy way. The law does not require you to hire an attorney to represent you in your workers’ compensation case. However, the step-by-step list of what you need to do to file your claim, deal with possible denials, potentially appeal benefits decisions, try to get the care you need, and deal with an insurer likely interested in getting you back to work quickly is very, very long. Consult with a Wilson workers’ comp attorney for guidance.
What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
The primary benefits are wage replacement due to disability and medical care. North Carolina defines potential benefits by the type of disability you’re suffering, which can fall into a few categories:
- Are you partially or totally disabled?
- Are you temporarily or permanently disabled?
Regardless, you may be able to claim wage replacement benefits that pay up to two-thirds of your average weekly wage, calculated with a formula in North Carolina workers’ compensation law. You could also receive medical care to help you recover as much as possible from your injury, but be aware that the insurer gets to choose the doctor!
In some cases, you may disagree with the insurer regarding their care and benefits. Maybe the insurer miscalculated the wage benefit or is not paying it on a schedule. Perhaps the care you’re getting isn’t helping, or you feel rushed back to work before you’ve completely healed. A Wilson workers’ compensation attorney can fight to defend your rights and guard your best interests.
How Quickly Can I Get Compensation for My Workplace Injury?
In North Carolina, there is a seven day waiting period following the accident where Defendants are not required to immediately start your weekly wage replacement checks. Once those seven days are up, if your claim was accepted, you are eligible to receive wage compensation benefits. However, that doesn’t always mean that the insurance company will start these checks right away. They may delay starting benefits to complete an investigation into your claim.
Let’s say your injury happens on June 1st, and you notify your employer and file your claim on the same day. You’re not working. Your employer has up to 30 days to respond to your claim. You won’t get any benefits, assuming they approve your claim, until that response. The wage benefit would be paid retroactive to your first date of disability in this case, since you missed more than 21 days.
And what if your employer or insurer denies your claim? You may be able to fight for your benefits. And while all of that happens, you’re unable to work and make a living as bills pile up. We’ve seen this happen before. Consider hiring a workers’ compensation attorney in Wilson to represent you. Contact us at any time online or by phone at 1-866-900-7078.
Do I Need a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer in Wilson?
That’s a judgment call – do you want to take on the workers’ compensation system and manage your case yourself, or do you want someone to do it for you? Different people may have different answers.
For most, the decision comes down to their capacity for stress and the value they place on experience. Yes, the North Carolina workers’ compensation system is written so that a lawyer is not required. However, the North Carolina State Bar offers board certification for workers’ compensation attorneys tackling the complex area of law.
Is that something you want to face on your own? Or would you rather have the help of a Wilson workers’ comp lawyer from our team, several of whom are North Carolina State Bar Board Certified Specialists in Workers’ Compensation? That choice is entirely up to you.
How Much Does a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Cost?
That depends on how the attorney or firm works. Our firm works on something called a contingency fee.2 That means you don’t pay an attorney’s fee by the hour – or at all if we are unable to collect on your behalf. There’s no out-of-pocket cost to hire us.
Instead, we’re motivated to seek as much as possible as quickly as possible with your best interests in mind. Our fee comes from a percentage of what we potentially collect on your behalf. An attorney can help you seek the maximum amount of compensation you may be entitled to receive. We can help you seek the medical care you need, sometimes despite what the insurer wants. And we can help try to minimize the aggravation, like demanding the insurance company pay your benefit on schedule rather than irregularly, which can cause income flow issues.
You may find a workers’ compensation lawyer in Wilson to be the best way to guard your best interests. The insurance company is not on your side. Having a professional advocate can make a big difference.
Call the Law Offices of James Scott Farrin and Tell Them You Mean Business!
Our experienced team of highly motivated, experienced, and caring workers’ compensation attorneys stands ready to fight for your best interests so you can focus on your health. We know the system, how it works, what the processes are, and how to advocate for your rights.
Testimonials do not reference all the feedback the firm has received. Each case is different and must be evaluated on its individual facts. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome can be achieved in a future.